Our Party | New York State Democratic Party

Since 1792


    Jay Jacobs

    Jay Jacobs is the Chair of the New York State Democratic Committee.

    Jay Jacobs was first elected to the position of Nassau County Democratic Chairman in October of
    2001. Since becoming Chairman, the voters of Nassau County have re-elected a Democratic Majority in the County Legislature in 2001, 2003, 2005, and 2007, and have elected two Democratic County Executives, two District Attorney’s, two County Comptrollers, three Town Supervisors, and a County Assessor. In 2005, Jacobs and the committee made history by helping to elect Kathleen Rice, who became the first ever female District Attorney in Nassau.

    In 2017, Chairman Jacobs and the Nassau County Democratic Committee continued to make history in helping to elect the first female County Executive in Nassau County’s history, and the first Democratic Supervisor in the Town of Hempstead’s history. In 2018 the Nassau County Democratic Committee swept all five New York State Senate Races in Nassau County, helping to switch the balance of power in the chamber from Republican to Democratic control. In doing so, they elected the first ever Iranian-American New York State Senator, and the first ever Indian-American New York State Senator.

    Under Jay’s leadership, the Nassau County Democratic Committee has raised more money and elected more Democrats than ever before. Because of the political successes orchestrated by Jacobs and the County Committee, Nassau County now has a more diverse group of elected officials and judges than ever before. Nassau County, for more than a century, a bastion of Republican organizational prowess – the suburban county Ronald Reagan once described as “Heaven” where Republicans go after they die, is now Democratic.

    Jay Jacobs served as the Chairman of the New York State Democratic Committee from 2009-2012, and returned to the post in 2019 after being recommended by Governor Cuomo. He is the first ever New York State Democratic Chair to hold the position twice. Chairman Jacobs also serves as an At-Large member of the Democratic National Committee, recommended by President Barack Obama.

    Jay Jacobs is the CEO and major owner of the TLC Family of Camps & Inns which includes three sleep-away camps, three day camps, a pre-school, and two country inns. Some of his past professional affiliations include serving on the New York State Camp Health and Safety Council, President of ACA’s NY section, and President of the New York State Camp Directors Association. He is the founder of SCOPE (Summer Camp Opportunities Promote Education), a program that sends inner city children to not-for-profit camps. In 2001, Jay founded and currently serves as Chairman of Project Heal the Children, an ACA program that provides free summer camp experiences for the children of victims of the 9/11 tragedy.

    Jay grew up in Forest Hills and graduated with a BA degree from SUNY Oneonta and a JD from Northwestern University Law School. Jay currently resides in Laurel Hollow with his wife Mindy. They have two daughters, Jessica and Jackie, along with two grandchildren, Landon and Brooklyn.
    Christine Quinn

    Christine Quinn is the Vice Chair of the New York State Democratic Committee.

    She formerly served as the Speaker of the New York City Council. The third person to
    hold this office, she was the first female and first openly gay speaker. As City Council speaker, Quinn was New York City’s third most powerful public servant. During her time in the City Council, Quinn served as chair of the Health Committee. She sponsored the Equal Benefits Bill and the Health Care Security Act, which requires that city contractors provide parity in benefits between married spouses and registered domestic partners. Quinn was born in Glen Cove, New York, one of two daughters of Mary and Lawrence Quinn. She went to School of the Holy Child in the village of Old Westbury on Long Island in New York, and graduated from Trinity College in Hartford, Connecticut.
    Alexander Wang
    Alexander Wang is the Executive Director of the New York State Democratic Committee.

    He comes into this position following extensive experience working on the New York State Coordinated Campaign in the 2018 election cycle–serving under his predecessor, Geoff Berman–where he developed and managed a robust budget for the statewide effort on battleground seats up and down the ticket. Prior, he served under Dr. Basil Smikle, the Executive Director during the 2016 election cycle.

    Mr. Wang served as Compliance Director to Governor Andrew M. Cuomo’s re-election campaign, where he was responsible for compliance with Federal and State election law and execution of both short-term and long-term strategy towards the development of a comprehensive statewide campaign operation.

    He holds a B.A. in Sociology from Harvard College with a secondary field of study in Government.

    Federal Officeholders

    Executive Director Geoff Berman
    Sen. Chuck Schumer
    Senator Kirsten Gillibrand
    Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand
    Thomas Suozzi thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Thomas Suozzi
    Kathleen Rice thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Kathleen Rice
    Gregory Meeks thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Gregory Meeks
    Grace Meng thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Grace Meng
    Nydia Velazquez thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Nydia Velazquez
    Hakeem Jeffries thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Hakeem Jeffries
    Yvette D. Clarke thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Yvette D. Clarke
    Jerrold Nadler thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Jerrold Nadler
    Max Rose thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Max Rose
    Carolyn B. Maloney thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney
    Adriano Espaillat thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Adriano Espaillat
    Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez
    José Serrano thumbnail portrait
    Rep. José Serrano
    Eliot Engel thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Eliot Engel
    Nita Lowey thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Nita Lowey
    Sean Maloney thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Sean Maloney
    Antonio Delgado thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Antonio Delgado
    Paul Tonko thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Paul Tonko
    Anthony Brindisi thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Anthony Brindisi
    Joseph Morelle thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Joseph Morelle
    Joseph Morelle thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Joseph Morelle
    Brian Higgins thumbnail portrait
    Rep. Brian Higgins

    Statewide Officeholders

    Governor Andrew Cuomo

    Governor Andrew Cuomo


    Lieutenant Governor Kathy Hochul

    Lieutenant Governor Kathy Hochul


    Attorney General Letitia James
    Attorney General Letitia James
    Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli
    Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli
    Speaker Carl Heastie
    Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie
    Assembly Majority Leader Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes
    Assembly Majority Leader Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes
    Senate Democratic Conference Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins
    Senate Democratic Conference Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins

    District Representatives

    2020 DNC Delegate Selection Plan